Umpire’s Shocking Error: DRS Rule Broken in India vs Oman!
Asia Cup 2025 India vs Oman match saw a shocking DRS blunder on the very first ball, raising big questions on umpiring standards.
In the match between India and Oman, a moment on the very first ball raised serious questions over umpiring and the use of the DRS system. Oman’s spinner Shakeel Ahmed appealed strongly for LBW against Abhishek Sharma on the first ball. The on-field umpire turned down the appeal, after which Oman decided to use the DRS (Decision Review System). The third umpire, after watching the replays, upheld the on-field umpire’s decision and Abhishek Sharma was declared “Not Out.”
The Big Mistake:
According to the rules, whenever there is an appeal and DRS is taken, the same batsman who was on strike must face the next ball, regardless of the outcome of the review. But here, due to an umpiring error, the next ball was faced by Shubman Gill, when in fact it should have been Abhishek Sharma on strike.
Why is this Serious?
Even if this incident did not affect the outcome of the match, it is still a clear violation of ICC’s rules. If such an error were to happen in a close or decisive moment, the controversy could have been much bigger. What’s most interesting is that neither the commentators, nor the players, nor the officials of either team seemed to notice this mistake.
Conclusion:-
The DRS system is meant to make the game fair, but if the rules are not properly implemented on the field, it naturally raises questions about its reliability. This umpiring lapse in the India vs Oman match raises serious concerns about the standards of officiating.
“Let me tell you, even after the DRS review on the first ball, that one leg-bye run was still counted on the scoreboard."
Thank You. 
